top of page

41 Hours

41 hours.

They are countable now. I've been anticipating this trip since I began to discern doing service last October, and it's hard to believe I will be in Ecuador in just a few days.

Karina and I traveled by train from Newton to Chicago on Monday where we have a couple more days of training. Our first train experience was a memorable one. Instead of leaving at 3:00 am Monday morning but we were delayed until 11:15 am. At least we got to sleep in our beds one more night! Train travel is so relaxed. We slept, sat in the observation car, visited with people. I will travel by train more often from now on.

For our training today, we met with the Ross Richers who work with indigenous communities in the Amazon basin in Ecuador. Next spring, they will help us determine how we can work with them in the rain forest depending on our interests and skills.

We also discussed inevitable culture shock, both as we adjust to Latin American culture and when we return to the States. In the meantime, I would ask for prayers as we transition. Pray that our team can continue to learn to work and live together and rely on one another. Pray also for our families who are also experiencing a transition of letting go.

I am so thankful of the community of people at home who are supporting me prayerfully and financially. I have almost met my fundraising goal. If you would like to donate, you can follow this link. I would appreciate your continued financial and prayerful support.

Next time I write, I'll be in Ecuador!


bottom of page