top of page

Lentils and Rice

More than one month has passed since we arrived in Quito. Now that we are past the “firsts” we have some predictability in our routines. I can now finally answer some of the questions you all have been asking me that before I had to respond with “I don’t know.” :)

The refugee project was what intrigued me to Quito in the first place. My past communities — Salina, Hesston, my work in Memphis, and Harrisonburg — have all taught me about the importance of working with marginalized communities, so the ministry in Quito seemed to be a fitting next step for me. The refugee project is a ministry of Quito Mennonite Church. The project has been helping refugees since 2002 as a response to the large immigrant population and out of faith conviction to help those in need.

Our work at the project varies day to day. Some of our regular responsibilities include sorting donated clothes and accompanying our supervisors to buy supplies that go to the refugees. The project is able to provide things such as mattresses and blankets, clothes, children’s school supplies and uniforms, stoves, gas, and food. One day, we bought school supplies for twenty-six kids, each with a slightly different list. A tedious, yet worthwhile task! Other days, we may mow the grass, enter data into the computer, or visit refugee families at their homes. I am still processing what I saw and heard from my first family visit last Friday.

Food assistance, however, is the most consistent part of our work — one that we get to help with from beginning to end. The project gives basic foods to about fifty individuals/families per month. First, we help buy rice, lentils, sugar, tuna, oil, eggs, and oatmeal from the store. We weigh and portion out the rice, lentils, and sugar into smaller portions depending on the family size. We package the eggs and funnel the oil into smaller bottles (an inevitable messy job, we’ve realized) and then sort the portions into each family’s bag. Lastly, we give the bag to individuals as they come each month. As I spill oil on the counter, tie bag after bag of rice, and especially as I hand the family their monthly bag, I can’t help but feel some gratitude for my work at the project — perhaps the most tangible part of my ministry here.

Before the project can help individuals, newcomers go through an interview process to determine their needs. The majority of people we receive come from Colombia and Venezuela, but many also come from Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Congo, Haiti, Syria, and more. We receive new refugees every Tuesday and Wednesday. These are my favorite days since we get to interact with individuals the most. Two of my supervisors, Alexandra and Daniela, interview first-time individuals to collect information such as why they came to Ecuador, how many meals they eat a day, and if they have been able to find work. During the interviews, the other volunteers and I serve cookies and coffee to those waiting for their interview, entertain children, help people find clothes, and answer questions as we can.

In addition to material assistance, the project provides counseling for those needing emotional and mental support. For those who have been displaced due to war and violence, who are missing family members, who come not knowing Spanish, surely these instances warrant some processing and healing. I’m glad that the project ministers in a more wholistic way that addresses a person’s physical and emotional needs.

I work with a spectacular team. My three supervisors are intelligent, fun, compassionate, and capable women. I so enjoy learning from them. Their jobs require much emotional labor as they listen to people’s stories, make difficult decisions, pray and care for all those that come through our doors. I am reminded of the way Jesus cared and healed for the ill and outcast. These are exactly the people that Jesus would tend to — those who are rejected by society, have the least resources, yet need them most right now.

Ecuador and this community’s attitude towards helping refugees encourages me as I am reminded of negative attitudes toward immigrants in the US. I can’t help but think of the now-rescinded DACA. These are my friends, my future students, their families, that this decision affects.

Exciting changes are happening at work. In a few weeks, the church and the project will move to a new building. The new church has three stories; the first and second will be for the church/project, and the third is the apartment where I live with Karina and Shannon and our host mom and son, Doris and Benji. It will be very convenient to go to and from work, but I still want to get out and see the sights of Quito! We are just waiting for the construction to finish to start the moving process.

P. S. As I mentioned in my last post, Delicia and I have been sewing diapers and last week, the families came to get them. It was an exciting day to meet the families and babies that would get good use out of them. The great thing about cloth diapers is how environmentally and cost-sustainable they are since they allow room for the baby to grow. I believe we are going to start sewing bibs next!


bottom of page