top of page

Mennonite in Memphis?

In keeping with the alliteration...

I ended my time in Quito two and a half weeks ago, and though the parties were fun, the accompanying goodbyes were not as much. I am so thankful for the relationships I made in Ecuador, the opportunities to experience God in a different part of the world, listening to people's sacred stories with the refugee project, and to learn Spanish. The list could go on.

Thank you, thank you, thank you to those who have supported me and our work in Ecuador with your financial support, thoughts and prayers, and letters. Could you please keep praying for Quito Mennonite Church, the coordinators and volunteers, and refugees as their difficult work continues?

I spent my last few weeks in Quito saying goodbye to places and people for the last time. Last time visiting my favorite bread store, last time with the kids at Jardines, last Spanish lesson, last church service. At least for now. I hope to come back and visit some day.

My week and a half in Kansas was a whirlwind. We had a nice dinner with extended family in Kansas City and then I spent the rest of my time in Salina. It was nice to catch up with friends, visit my church, and going garage sale-ing. :)

Maya, Mom, and I arrived in Memphis on Sunday. A huge thank you goes to a couple from our church who drove with us so that they could help move my things in their trailer. We were able to spend some nice family time with just the three of us until Friday morning.

I finished my first day of orientation for the Memphis Teacher Residency yesterday. We will continue with orientation this next week, and the following week is the start of our graduate classes. I've had a great time so far getting to know people in my cohort and starting to explore all the fun things Memphis has to offer.

It is strange to think that my life existed in Quito just a few short weeks ago, and now I am here in Memphis starting another "big thing." Also strange, the weather is what is making me feel most distant from my time in Ecuador. I look at my sweatshirts, boots, and rain coat in my closet that I was wearing less than three short weeks ago, and can't imagine wearing them in this humid Memphis heat. I guess when the weather cools down here, I'll put them on and think of Ecuador.

This may be my last post on this blog for now. Thank you so much for reading. It has been a pleasure for me to share with you in words and pictures.

And for some final pictures:


bottom of page